speeding ticket

tell-us

tell-us




captcha


Back to school driving in Pennsylvania

Back to school driving in Pennsylvania

Pittsburgh, PA – It is school time once again but Pennsylvania drivers consider it time to go back to traffic, especially the tedious act of traveling at the rear of a school bus or the process of moving like a snail while passing a school zone. According to the report of the Motor Transportation Department of Pennsylvania, although most drivers follow street rules but there are also more than1, 000 motorists who neglect to comply with school bus stopping laws each year.

In passing a stopped school bus, drivers must be wary of dangerous and expensive consequences. Stopping Laws for School Bus’s violation  would likely result in a driver’s license suspension for 60 days, aside from five points added to the driving record, plus a fine of $250 fine. The NHTSA estimated that accidents related to school transportation account for 137 fatalities each year.

Pennsylvania law states that drivers must stop a distance of at least ten feet from a school bus that is flashing its red lights and a stop arm extended. Whether the vehicle is meeting the bus head on, overtaking the bus, or approaching it at an intersection, the same rule prevails. All motorists are required to wait until the red lights of the school bus have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been withdrawn before it starts moving. Motorists must keep their eyes open to make sure children have reached a place of safety.

In Pennsylvania, motorists must stop for school buses when: (1) on roads with lines; (2) on intersection marked or unmarked with a stop sign; and (3) on roadways with fixed/corrugated dividers.

However, motorists are not need to stop when these situations occur: (1) lanes are separated by a solid middle barrier, median barrier made of metal, or a rail guide; and (2) road with clear indication of separate sections such as grasses, a rivulet, boulder, big rocks, and plants.

But when the driver is in doubt, the safest option is to stop; your action can save lives, green bucks and especially your license.

Aside from stopping for school buses, drivers must be careful in passing of active school zones. There are marked signs indicating when it starts. Pennsylvania school zones have a speed limit of 15 miles per hour.

PennDOT keeps a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. The objective of the point system is to improve driving habits and to ensure safe driving. When a driving record reaches 6 or more points, remedies are effective thru retaking a driving test, attend a driver improvement courses, be present in departmental hearings, or suspend the driver’s license.

Drivers caught speeding in a school zone could be fined up to $500 and 3 points added to driving record. For a second infraction, the driver loses license for 60 days. Fines and penalties may increase for careless driving that cause serious injury or death.

A good traffic lawyer can assist you with your case in court in several ways. It is a good idea to engage a skilled traffic lawyer when you get a citation.

Source: Explore Venango Com

(http://explorevenango.com/back-to-school-driving-the-laws-penalties-pa-drivers-need-to-know/)

Source: Examiner Com

( http://www.examiner.com/article/how-to-you-get-points-on-and-off-your-pennsylvania-driver-s-license)

Recent Posts